News & Events Archive
General Information
Office Working Hours

(Monday - Thursday, Saturday)
07:30 a.m. - 04.00 p.m.

Office Working Hours
(During School Holidays)

(Monday - Friday)
08:00 a.m. - 12.00 p.m.

Our Contacts

Tel.: (673) 222 4458
Fax.: (673) 222 6910
E-mail: info@stgeorges.edu.bn

Web Visitor Counter
Page views: 4.92k
News & Events
Private Schools Divided Into Seven Zones
Sun, 16 Oct 2011

Bandar Seri Begawan - From this year, formal private schools have been divided into seven zones with each zone led by two principals as zone co-chairpersons and a "zone private officer".

This was revealed by Dayang Hajah Seroja binti Haji Siau, Acting Senior Special Duties Officer and Head of Private Education Section of the Ministry of Education, at the presentation of certificates and prizes in conjunction with Customer's Appreciation Day.

She said that there are 181 private schools and educational institutions registered with the Ministry of Education. From the figure, 82 are formal schools, six higher education institutions, 68 tuition schools, ten computer schools, 10 music schools and four skills centres.

Dayang Hajah Seroja also disclosed the establishment of the private schools leaders executive committee or JAPSS in April this year. JAPSS is currently led by former school administrators like Awang Koh Hong Puah, the Principal of St Margaret's School, and Cikgu Sikun bin Rayun, the Principal of PGGMB Secondary School.

Present to hand over the certificates and prizes to the recipients was the guest of honour, Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Kerna Dato Seri Setia Dr Haji Awang Abu Bakar bin Hj Apong, the Minister of Education.

In recognition of the achievements of the private schools, the minister presented prizes to 20 private schools that achieved 100 per cent results in PSR 2010. They are PGGMB School, Sungai Akar, Al Falaah School, Jigsaw Primary School, Chung Hwa School, Tutong, Chung Hwa School, Kiudang, Chung Hwa School, Labi, Chung Lian School, Pai Yuek School, Tunas Cemerlang School, Learning Tree School, Stella's School, Tangga Gemilang School, Tinkerbell Learning School, St George's School, St Margaret's School, St Angela's School, Nusa Jaya School, Tadika Jaya DHMR School, Freda Radin School and SYAMDE Bright Kids School.

The top three schools which received awards for achieving highest percentage of five 'O' Level and above for private schools nationwide in BGCE November 2010 and IGCSE June 2011 are Chung Ching Middle School (85.45 per cent), Chung Hwa Middle School (82.86 per cent) and St John's School (82.86 per cent).

Prizes were also given to primary schools that achieved the most grade A in the Malay Language subject at PSR. The recipients are Al Falaah School (66.67 per cent), Tunas Jaya PGGMB School, Lambak (64.70 per cent), Freda Radin School (50 per cent) and Tangga Gemilang School (50 per cent).

The minister gave away prizes to secondary schools that achieved the most grade A in the Malay Language subject at BGCE 'O' Level in November. They are St Angela's School (8.7 per cent), Nusa Laila Puteri School (7.69 per cent) and St Andrew's School (5.22 per cent).

Schools that received appreciation prizes for co-curriculum activities are Chung Hwa Middle School, BSB and Stella's School for primary level as well as Seri Mulia Sarjana School, Mata Mata and Chung Hua Middle School of KB for secondary level.

Five former leaders in private education received recognition for their hard work - Awang Hj Omar bin Hj Ahai, Awang Redzuan bin Abdullah, Pg Hj Mohd Daud bin Pg Hj Puteh, Datin Hjh Asmah binti Hj Abdul Rahman and Awang Hj Mohammed bin Jambul.

--Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin--